News archive


29. November 2016.

Belgrade - At the 12th meeting of the IPA Committee, which was held in Brussels on November 17, the European Commission adopted a new program of cross-border cooperation between Serbia and Macedonia for the period from 2016 to 2020.

The total value of the program is over four million euros, of which three and a half million euros are provided through the EU’s IPA funds. The priorities of the Serbia-Macedonia cross-border Program include promotion of employment, labor mobility and cross-border social and cultural inclusion, support to the development of tourism and preservation of cultural and natural heritage.

In Serbia, the Program covers the area of the Jablanica district (the city of Leskovac and the municipalities of Bojnik, Lebane, Medvedja, Vlasotince and Crna Trava) and the Pcinj district (the city of Vranje with two municipalities, Vranje and Vranje Spa, and the municipalities of Vladicin Han, Surdulica, Bosilegrad, Trgoviste, Bujanovac and Presevo). In Macedonia, the area covered by the program includes: the northwestern region (the municipalities of Kratovo, Lipkovo, Kumanovo, Staro Nagoricane, Rankovce and Kriva Palanka), the Skopje region (the municipalities of Aracinovo, Cucer Sandevo, Ilinden, Petrovec, Sopiste, Studenicani, Zelenikovo) and the municipality of the City of Skopje (Butel, Gjorce Petrov and Saraj).

By adopting the Program, Serbia rounds off the process of coordinating the development of the local border regions through the programs of the European territorial cooperation with all neighboring countries.

Source: Team for Social inclusion and Poverty Reduction and Coordination Body